Jane Austen, a sweet memory

15/01/2013 21:12
Each time I think to Jane Austen, I think to my English Literature professor, the second year of University. An old English lady sitten behind her desk interviewing me for my exam. Grey short hair and blue-sky eyes on a thin face which scared every student.
She asked me to speak about Kim, by Rudyard Kipling.
I bit my lips thinking to the fact that I had not finished to read it... it was so boring...

She stood up and turned towards the wall.

"Did you enjoy it?"

"Not so much" was my answer. 

She sat down again and stared at me. 

"Well, I do not like it either. So... What did you like most?"

"Pride and Prejudice," said I.

She sighed. "Jane Austen. She is my favourite. Let's speak about her!"

I could not believe my ears.

It is a dear memory. Few months later she retired, and I did not see her again.

Yes. I admit Jane Austen's novels may be considered as typical girl's books, yet I like them very much.

I was young. I was 20, yet I was moved to read those psychological analyses on falling in love. It was so real... She never married, everybody knows, but her description of love sufferings and intrigues were so real that she must have fallen in love and suffered for love. My favourite novel is Reason and Sensibility. I tried many times to convince my wife to read it, but she never did. I loved that novel. The two sister representing the conflicting soul of Jane, were so tender. Yeah, I love English Literature! Every novel, every poem every panphlet reminds me the time the most tender, beautiful and serene of all my life: the University years, when I could devote all myself to what I loved: literature and music.